NEW JERSEY INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

RESOLUTION TO APPROVE FACULTY SABBATICAL LEAVES FOR ACADEMIC YEAR 25-26

- **WHEREAS** NJIT's sabbatical leave policy exists to enhance the professional development and increase the research and scholarly production of Faculty by relieving them of their teaching and service responsibilities for a semester or an academic year;
- **WHEREAS** those faculty members recommended for sabbatical leave during the academic year 2025-2026 will be enriched by this opportunity to immerse themselves in creative, scholarly, and research activities and will thus enhance not only their value to NJIT, but this university's image as well; and
- WHEREAS the following individuals have submitted applications for, and are to be granted sabbatical leave for the Spring 2026 semester: Catalin Turc, Wen Zhang, Ali Mili, and
- WHEREAS the following individuals have submitted applications for, and are to be granted sabbatical leave for the Academic Year 2025-2026: Taro Naraharo, Daniel Bunker, Alexei Khalizov, Hao Chen, Rebecca Rutkoff, Ji Meng Loh, Roy Goodman, Wenda Cao, Jorge Fresneda, David Venerus, Rajesh Dave, Steven I-Jy Chien, Leonid Tsybeskov, Simone Marras, Huiran Jin, Cristian Borcea, Ioannis Koutis, and
- **WHEREAS** the following individuals have submitted applications for, and are to be granted sabbatical leave for the Spring 2026 and Fall 2026 semesters: Abdallah Khreishah, and
- WHEREAS the administration recommends that said sabbatical leaves be granted;
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Board of Trustees approves the sabbatical leave recommendations noted on the next page.

Taro Narahara	Architecture	2025-2026
Daniel Bunker	Biological Sciences	2025-2026
Alexei Khalizov	Chemistry and Environmental Sciences	2025-2026
Hao Chen	Chemistry and Environmental Sciences	2025-2026
Rebecca Rutkoff	Humanities and Social Sciences	2025-2026
Caitlin Turc	Mathematical Sciences	Spring 2026
Ji Meng Loh	Mathematical Sciences	2025-2026
Roy Goodman	Mathematical Sciences	2025-2026
Wenda Cao	Physics	2025-2026
Jorge Fresneda	Martin Tuchman School of Management	2025-2026
David Venerus	Chemical & Materials Engineering	2025-2026
Rajesh Dave	Chemical & Materials Engineering	2025-2026
Steven I-Jy Chien	Civil & Environmental Engineering	2025-2026
Wen Zhang	Civil & Environmental Engineering	Spring 2026
Abdallah Khreishah	Electrical and Computer Engineering	Spring 2026-Fall 2026
Leonid Tsybeskov	Electrical and Computer Engineering	2025-2026
Simone Marras	Mechanical & Industrial Engineering	2025-2026
Huiran Jin	Applied Engineering & Technology	2025-2026
Ali Mili	Computer Science	Spring 2026
Cristian Borcea	Computer Science	2025-2026
Ioannis Koutis	Computer Science	2025-2026

Sandy A. Curko, Esq. General Counsel/Vice President of Legal Affairs and Secretary to the Board of Trustees New Jersey Institute of Technology

February 4, 2025 Board Resolution 2025-24