RESOLUTION TO APPROVE PROMOTIONS TO THE RANK OF DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR, PROFESSOR, ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR WITH TENURE, AND APPOINTMENT WITH TENURE

- **WHEREAS** by awarding promotion and tenure, New Jersey Institute of Technology recognizes faculty members whose accomplishments in research, service, and teaching excellence, after a rigorous review by their peers as well as university administration, consistent with the policies and procedures outlined in the *Faculty Handbook*, are of such caliber that they warrant the distinction of this recognition resulting in their recommendation for promotion and/or tenure, and
- WHEREAS the accomplishments of the following individuals display patterns of sustained leadership in teaching; student supervision; scholarly activities; funded research; service to the department, the university, and the profession, and are to be promoted to the rank of Distinguished Professor: Zhi Wei and Tara F. Marhaba, and
- WHEREAS the accomplishments of the following individuals display patterns of sustained leadership in teaching; student supervision; scholarly activities; funded research; service to the department, the university, and the profession, and are to be promoted to the rank of Professor: Bin Chen, Cristiano Dias, Casey Diekman, Simon Garnier, Roy Goodman, Xiaobo Li, Xiayang Xu, Dantong Yu, and
- WHEREAS the accomplishments of the following individuals display patterns of sustained leadership in teaching; student supervision; scholarly activities; funded research; service to the department, the university, and the profession, and are to be promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure: Pramod Abichandani, Jorge Fresneda, Hurian Jin, Jing Li, Simone Marras, Rebekah Rutkoff, Mathew Schwartz, Yuanwei Zhang, and
- WHEREAS the accomplishments of the following individual displays patterns of sustained leadership in teaching; student supervision; scholarly activities; funded research; service to the profession, and is to be appointed at the rank of Professor with tenure: Jamie Payton, and
- WHEREAS the accomplishments of the following individuals display patterns of sustained leadership in teaching; student supervision; scholarly activities; funded research; service to the profession, and are to be appointed at the rank of Associate Professor with tenure: Zhifeng Kou, Hye Yeon Nam, and
- WHEREAS the administration recommends that said promotions and tenure be granted;
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Board of Trustees approves the promotion and tenure recommendations noted below.

Zhi Wei Promotion to Distinguished Professor
Taha Marhaba Promotion to Distinguished Professor

Bin Chen	Promotion to Professor
Cristiano Dias	Promotion to Professor
Casey Diekman	Promotion to Professor
Simon Garnier	Promotion to Professor
Roy Goodman	Promotion to Professor
Xiaobo Li	Promotion to Professor
Xiaoyang Xu	Promotion to Professor
Dantong Yu	Promotion to Professor
Pramod	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Abichandani	
Jorge Fresneda	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Hurian Jin	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Jing Li	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Simone Marras	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Rebekah Rutkoff	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Mathew Schwartz	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Yuanwei Zhang	Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure
Jamie Payton	Appointment as Professor with Tenure
Zhifeng Kou	Appointment as Associate Professor with Tenure
Hye Yeon Nam	Appointment as Associate Professor with Tenure

Holly C. Stern, Esq.

General Counsel/Vice President of

Legal Affairs and

Secretary to the Board of Trustees New Jersey Institute of Technology

July 25, 2024 Board Resolution No. 2025-7